The Seven Chakras and Their Importance

The Seven Chakras and Their Importance

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body.

There are many chakras in subtle human body. You can feel them as junction boxes or confluence of nadis. Among these only 7 fundamental chakras that are considered and are associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head.

These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine in which energy flows through. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth. By practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. By Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional or behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.

The seven chakras are: 

  1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Red
    • Location: Base of the spine
    • Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
  2. Svadhisthana (Sacral Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Orange
    • Location: Below navel, Lower Abdomen
    • Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality
  3. Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Yellow
    • Location: Above the navel, Stomach Area
    • Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem
  4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Green
    • Location: Center of Chest
    • Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace
  5. Visshudha (Throat Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Blue
    • Location: Throat Region
    • Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.
  6. Ajna (Third Eye Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Indigo
    • Location: Forehead, in between the eyes
    • Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions
  7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)
    • Colour Association: Violet
    • Location: Top of head, Cerebral Cortex
    • Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

Using different postures of yoga, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body. This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of synch with the rest of your body or not active at all. 

By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, balance can be achieved. This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy. In its hibernating state, it can be visualized as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine. Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional welfare.


Published - 2015-05-22    By - anshu

7th Chakra Meditation, Chakra Alignment, Vinyasa Yoga, Chakras Balancing, Kundalini Yoga Chakras, Healing The Heart Chakra, Restorative Yoga, How To Balance Your Chakras, Meditation Chakras, Yin Yoga
  Latest Offers ads
Huge Discounts on All Electronics Products

Huge Discounts on All Electronics Products is a one stop online shopping platform for today's ever ..

Upto 75 % Off on Popular Games

Upto 75 % Off on Popular Games GamersGate is the world’s largest online store for PC and Mac games (4500+ games).

Post your ads on

Post your ads on Post your ads on for free and reach thousands of customers